Physiological Foundations

The extracellular Matrix is the medium in which the cell lives!

The first cells were formed in the primordial ocean. Single-celled organisms exchanged substances with this boundless ocean practically without any changes occurring in its physical characteristics (electrolytes, minerals, acid-base parameters, temperature, trace elements etc.)

Zelle_StoffaustauschThe cells of the human body “bathe” in the extracellular fluid, whose volume is smaller than the cellular volume.

This medium would thus rapidly change, if the intercellular fluid were not connected via the blood circulation to organs which take in nutrients, electrolytes and water, and which dispose of wastes via the urine and stools.

The regulation of the inner medium is mainly the task of the kidney and respiration. In addition, essential components of the extracellular fluid are constantly lost to the outside via the lungs and the skin. Naturally the specialization of cells and organs for specific functions requires integration. This occurs, among other things, through long-range convective transport, by the transmission of humoral information via the circulatory system, and by the transmission of electrical signals by the nervous system. These mechanisms not only insure the necessary supply and removal of various substances, thereby insuring the constancy of the internal medium even under extreme stresses and demands, but also control and regulate functions which promote survival of the organism and the species overall.

All homeodynamic therapies, including chemotherapy in oncology, are primarily therapies of the extracellular matrix, and mainly act only secondarily on the cells themselves. The term “Matrix Therapy” was chosen by the Erlangen working group in 1995. It is intended to underline the fact that every regulative influence on a cell – whether preventative, curative, regenerative or destructive (chemotherapy) – acts primarily on the medium surrounding the cell, i.e. on the extracellular matrix. Either the therapeutic effect occurs in the matrix itself or secondarily, via the matrix, on the cells.

Processes can be observed better by means of high-resolution video microscopy.

Physiologische Grundlagen

Die extrazelluläre Matrix ist das Milieu, in dem die Zelle lebt!

Die erste Zelle entstand im Urmeer. Der Einzeller tauschte Stoffe mit dem unendlich großen Meer aus, ohne dass sich praktisch dessen Zusammensetzung änderte (Elektrolyte, Mineralien, Säure-Basenwerte, Temperatur, Spurenelemente, etc.).

Zelle_StoffaustauschDie Zellen des menschlichen Körpers „baden“ in der Extrazellulären Flüssigkeit, deren Volumen kleiner ist als das zelluläre Volumen. Dieses innere Milieu würde sich daher schnell verändern, wenn der Zwischenzellraum nicht über den Blutweg an Organe angeschlossen wäre, die neue Nahrung, Elektrolyte, und Wasser aufnehmen sowie Endprodukte mit Stuhl und Urin ausscheiden.

Die Regulation des inneren Milieus obliegt hauptsächlich der Niere und der Atmung. Über die Lunge und die Haut gehen außerdem dauernd wesentliche Komponenten der extrazellulären Flüssigkeit verloren. Eine solche Spezialisierung von Zellen und Organen für bestimmte Aufgaben bedarf natürlich der Integration. Konvektiver Ferntransport, humorale Informationsübermittlung im Kreislaufsystem und elektrische Signalübertragung im Nervensystem sorgen u.a. dafür. Sie dienen nicht nur der Ver- und Entsorgung und damit der Konstanthaltung des inneren Milieus auch unter extremen Anforderungen und Belastungen, sondern steuern und regeln auch Funktionen, die dem Überleben im weiteren Sinne, der Arterhaltung, dienen.

Ahomoeodynamiklle Therapien, auch Chemotherapien in der Onkologie sind primär Therapien der extrazellulären Matrix, welche meist erst sekundär auf die Zelle einwirken. Der Begriff „Matrix-Therapie“ wurde 1995 in der Erlanger Arbeitsgruppe gewählt und sollte wieder verdeutlichen, dass jede regulierende Einflussnahme auf eine Zelle ob präventiv, kurativ, regenerativ oder auch destruktiv (Chemotherapie), primär auf das Milieu einwirkt. Also auf die extrazelluläre Matrix. Die Therapiewirkung erfolgt bereits dort bzw. sekundär kommt es zur Einwirkung auf die Zelle.

Durch die hochauflösende Videomikroskopie können die Prozesse besser beobachtet werden.